Poetry Series: The Vower

This was a poem I wrote about my ex-girlfriend who died in a car accident 2 years after we broke up. I didn’t get to properly mourn her death because I was with a very jealous woman at the time (yea, jealous of a dead girl! Imagine that!) I penned these words when I finally got to terms with her passing. For the record, I am happily married to my beautiful wife but this is what I was feeling all those years ago…

The Vower: A Short Poem

While you’re up there

I miss you here

 

I long your kiss

Is it me that you miss?

 

Our place we share

I will not dare

 

To disturb the ground

For by love I am bound.

 

To hold and tell

Fate’s deepest well,

 

And now I state

I’ll drink in fate

 

And full I am

Of you and kin,

My smile falls

Upon my chin.

 

I can not wait

Until the time,

That you in full,

Attuned as mine.

 

I share my love,

With you, Devine

In contract with

The great grape-vine.

 

Contrast, should we

Upon the world

And you’re my one,

Perfect girl.

 

For you I love,

And love, I do

I only wish

To be with you.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

