Poetry Series: “Window”

Window

I don’t fit into your circle

I know what it’s like to be the outcast

Just a black sheep in a herd of drones

Alienate myself from this world

Prepared to be alone.

I looked into the window

And saw a figure staring at me

Who could it be?

It was only me.

The whole time he said in his mind

You’ll never belong,

It will never be.

I then lost my fear,

For it was only a cat

Pouncing from the sill

Why not just sit here

And let the world move around me

I could melt it all like wax

And bounce back like jello.

Everybody trudges and carries their cross

Like Tolkien said,

“Not all who wander are lost.”

I bet if you looked deep enough

Inside you would see those things

You like to hide

And realize that you, too

Are no more than me,

Because we all ate

From the same tree.

Image

Leave a Reply

