Poetry Series: Canadian Smoke

Image

 

Here’s one that was written as a slow song. This was one of my favorite songs and I wish I could find a recording of it! Although the title reflects Canada, Canada actually has nothing to do with this poem. This was written about an ex-girlfriend who passed away in a car accident 2 years after we broke up. I really did miss her…

 

Canadian Smoke: A Poem

I’d do anything…

Whatever you need.

I’d go anywhere…

For you.

 

All those memories

All those nights

All I’m wishing for,

Is you.

 

If I could change it all

I wouldn’t.

But there’s some things

I would

 

I can’t take it back now,

But I would if I could

 

All these changes

Different faces

Turning pages

Changing places

 

I miss you…

Wish I could hold you

Again.

 

I try to forget you

But your picture remains

In the wall of my mind’s eye.

 

I can’t erase you

Or pull you from my soul

I’m incomplete now

Just a puzzle with missing peices.

 

Wish I could see you

Or maybe even call.

I really miss you

I feel like I will fall.

 

There’s no way back to you

There’s no trace of love.

I miss you…

Leave a Reply

